You are here

Programs & Events

Upcoming

Exhibition

Ellen Rothenberg

ISO 6346: ineluctable immigrant

Thursday, February 1, 2018 to Sunday, April 22, 2018

Spertus Institute presents a site-specific installation by Chicago-based... More >

Program Series

Small & Mighty Network

Professional Development Workshop Series

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 to Tuesday, May 22, 2018

This professional development series is designed to address the important... More >

Lecture | Discussion

Alumni Forum

Tuesday, April 24, 2018
11:30 am to 1:30 pm

Rabbi Jodi Kornfeld, Spertus DSJS 2015, explores how Jewish art is a window... More >

Performance

Degenerate Art

Sunday, April 29, 2018
2:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Fifth House Ensemble sheds new light on works by musicians and artists... More >

Mini-course

In the Suburbs

Israel as a Jewish and Democratic State

Questions, Explorations, and Implications

Wednesday, May 2, 2018
7:45 pm to 9:15 pm

Israel expert Dr. Keren Fraiman addresses questions about how Jewish and... More >

Pop-Up Series

In the Suburbs

Yiddish Yesterday and Today

Thursday, May 10, 2018 to Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Spertus Institute proudly partners with local Jewish community organizations... More >

Lecture | Discussion

In the Suburbs

A Bintel Brief

The Dear Abby Column of the Forverts

Thursday, May 10, 2018
11:00 am to 12:15 pm

Part of a series of Yiddish-related programs, this free talk explores the... More >

Lecture | Discussion

In the Suburbs

“And now I have to read in Jewish something"

Yiddish performances by Holocaust survivors

Tuesday, May 22, 2018
7:00 pm to 8:30 pm

Part of a series of Yiddish-related programs, this special evening features... More >

Exhibition

Inquiry 01: Chicago Jewish Artists Fellowship Exhibition

Wednesday, May 23, 2018 to Sunday, August 12, 2018

This exhibition presents works by participants in Spertus Institute’s first... More >

Exhibition

Inquiry 01: Chicago Jewish Artists Fellowship Exhibition Opening

Wednesday, May 23, 2018
5:00 pm to 8:00 pm

This exhibition presents works by participants in Spertus Institute’s first... More >

Film | Discussion

In the Suburbs

Episodes 1 & 2 from the Israeli TV Series Shtisel

Screening and Discussion

Tuesday, May 29, 2018
7:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Part of a series of Yiddish-related programs, see the Israeli smash hit TV... More >

Mini-course

In the Suburbs

Itzik’s Midrash

Bridging Past and Present through Modern Yiddish Literature

Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Part of a series of Yiddish-related programs, this three-session explore one... More >

top